Week 6 – The Idea

I have not explained to this point why I would set myself the ridiculous challenge of running a half marathon after such a disastrous attempt at a 5.9km fun run.  After my second effort at the Terang Noorat fun run, which was much more successful than the first, I began to wonder what’s next.  I had trained longer and smarter this time around and my legs were operating like they should.  I could do a 5k run two or three times a week and walk away with no ill effects.  Still inspired by the two people who started all this, (curse them anyway), I was actually enjoying running and didn’t want that hard work to be just lost.

I had jokingly challenged another running friend to a 10k event, and this would have been an easier option, but the easy option wouldn’t provide the challenge I was looking for.  I felt like I could run 10k anytime and I needed this to be six months build up.

The Melbourne Marathon bought together a number of things that were important in what I was looking for.  The first was that the distance was a huge challenge.  Something I could not have contemplated twelve months ago, and even now I not so sure about it.  The second was that it traditionally finishes inside the MCG, one of my favourite places to be.  The idea of completing this personal challenge on the hallowed turf in front of a massive? crowd was far too appealing.  The third and perhaps most importantly, was that the event happens to be just days before my 50th birthday.

I’ve never been one to stress about the meaning of a significant birthday, and generally see them as the beginning of something new, rather than the end.  I’ve greeted both 30 and 40 and viewed them as a chance to set some new goals and reset the focus.  We’ve also celebrated them by doing something BIG

I’m looking forward to 50 and am excited by what the next few years promise.  We are part time empty nesters and are already enjoying some of the freedoms that presents.  After years of “doing it for the kids” I see fifty as the chance to enjoy some personal time.

After last weeks altercation with the IKEA furniture our lounge room again resembled a recovery unit. I was icing each night in order to reduce the swelling and bring out the bruising. It wasn’t until Thursday that I was able to consider running.  A short slow session on the treadmill, fairly flat footed, not much work on the toes. 

You don’t really appreciate how important your toes are in the scheme of things, and how often they actually get used. One week on and the cut on my big toe is still weeping and my second toe (it took the full force of the impact) is still tender to touch.  I’m reluctant to admit it may be broken.

I did manage a 12 k run on Saturday morning..  While the toes were still a bit sore, it wasn’t painful.  I’ve put up with a lot worse.  20 ks for the week

I didn’t see too many out on Saturday morning, although the fog was that thick I probably wouldn’t have seen them anyway.  By the time I got home I was as wet as I would have been if it was raining.

5 weeks to go now, and the challenge for this week is to keep both feet intact. This will be important, as I need to start really increasing the weekly ks

33 days to go.

2 thoughts on “Week 6 – The Idea

  1. Wow! So wonderful to hear your running story. I’m currently training for a half marathon (my first) for this November.
    The longest distance I’ve run to date was a 10 mile race…. I just started retraining about 3 weeks ago.

    Wishing you the best of luck!

    Like

Leave a comment